Home » Home » Contacts

Contacts

East Devon Beekeepers Committee Members and Other Contacts

Chair – Alasdair Bruce
Tel:     01404 881 589
Email: chair@edbk.co.uk

Secretary – Val Bone
Email:  secretary@edbk.co.uk
Charandale, Luton, Payhembury, EX14 3HZ

Treasurer – Keith Bone
Tel:     01404 841 629
Email: treasurer@edbk.co.uk
Charandale, Luton, Payhembury, EX14 3HZ

Membership Secretary – Val Bone
Email:  membership@edbk.co.uk
Charandale, Luton, Payhembury, EX14 3HZ

Librarian – Nick Silver
Email: librarian@edbk.co.uk

Apiary Manager – position vacant

Education & Courses – Richard Simpson
Tel:      07900 492 242
Email:  education@edbk.co.uk

Website – John Badley
Email: webmaster@edbk.co.uk

Seasonal Bee Inspector, David Packham – Exeter, East Devon and Tiverton
Tel:    07775 119 463
Email: david.packham@apha.gov.uk

East Devon Asian hornet coordinator – Ann Pengelly
Tel:    01297 21443
Email:  annpengelly@hotmail.co.uk



Facebook

There is an East Devon Beekeepers Facebook page where members can exchange information and ask questions.
Search for East Devon Beekeepers and send a request to join – the admin team will check that you are a paid up member of East Devon branch before adding you to the group.

News & Events

You are welcome to read the latest edition of Bees for Development Journal
This edition covers important issues concerning world honey trade, explanation of the importance of young honey bee colonies getting off to a good start, all about swarms, harvesting from top-bar hives, with glimpses of world bee day celebrations.

Click HERE for BfD Journal

US beekeepers sue over imports of fake
asian honey.

Read the article HERE.

Marks and Spencer project threat to honeybee diversity?

Good thing or bad thing? You decide. Read the article HERE.

Liquid gold: beekeepers defying Yemen war to produce the best honey

Read the article HERE.

Fungus creates fake fragrant flowers to fool bees

Fungi have been discovered making fake flowers that look and even smell like the real thing, fooling bees and other pollinating insects into visiting them.

Read the article HERE.

Spiders Can Fly Hundreds of Miles Using Electricity

Scientists are finally starting to understand the centuries-old mystery of “ballooning.”

Read the secrets HERE

Making a beeline: wildflower paths across UK could save species

Conservation charity aims to help restore 150,000 hectares of bee-friendly corridors to save the insects from extinction.

Read the article HERE.